It’s funny that we, Americans, enjoy partying and in most cases have a day off from work to celebrate the holidays. How many of us truly know anything about them. I think that if you ask most Americans about the fourth of July that they might be able to tell you it relates to our gaining independence from the British(some might not even know that it was the British). I, too, had to do some research on the subject. I was truly amazed about the things that I had forgotten and the things that I did not know. One of the things that I learned was that the first “4th” of July celebration actually took place on the “8th”, after a committee of (5) men were tasked with duty of establishing the foundation of laws for this new country. What an awsome burden and responsibility, not only with that task, but knowing that you are putting their lives and those of your loved ones at risk. If the British found out or gained access to a copy of the document that these men put their names to, they would surely have been treated as traitors. How many of us today are truly willing to do that. I served in the military but feel my role was drawfed by their achievements and sacrifices. There are members in the military, today, who place their lives in danger daily to protect what our founding fathers established and they shoudl be remembered and thanked, for without their committment we would not enjoy these liberties. There are also those in foreign lands who are putting their lives ahead of personal needs and performing acts illustrating a demand for liberty. Freedom is not gained without sacrifice,and we need to remember that.

On a lighter/make you think note, I learned that on the 50th anniversary of the 4th of July, two of the original writers: Thomas Jefferson and John Adams died. How weird.

Finally, I learned in 1938 it was recognized as a national holiday.
The locations where these events took place would make for great vacations.

It was not my intent to offend, quite the opposite, I hope to inspire people to learn more about it and remmember those who sacrifices made this day off from work possible, and remember those who are out there everyday here and abroad defending our freedom and liberties.

